Homemade Hot Chocolate

It wasn’t until my early twenties that I realized that hot chocolate didn’t have to come in a pouch of powder with tiny dehydrated marshmallows. I was reading a book in which the main character ordered a hot chocolate at a ski chalet, and the waiter poured hot milk over solid chocolate in a mug to make the hot chocolate. It was like a revelation. So the other day when it was cold out and I was craving a hot chocolate, I decided to make my own. I heated up some half and half in a pot, and when it started to boil I turned off the heat and poured a little bit of it over some broken pieces of chocolate (I used 85% cocoa, which was probably too bitter — but still good). As it melted I stirred it up and added a little more at a time until it was all mixed together. For a final flourish I grated some more chocolate over the top. Perfect with a couple of cookies on a cold winter night.

Leave a Reply

