Fresh Mozzarella at Tedone Latticini

I was alerted to the presence of the tiny shop Tedone Latticini by the blog Eating in Translation. According to that blog, “Georgia Tedone, now in her 90s, reportedly begins work before dawn to prepare her beloved fresh mozzarella .” When I walked in to her unassuming little shop in Williamsburg she was indeed seated behind the counter while another woman was busy slicing cold cuts. The shop was almost threadbare on my visit, with a few boxes of pasta piled up on the mostly empty shelves. Ms. Tedone saw me eyeing the balls of fresh mozzarella, plastic-wrapped and lined up on the counter, and knew exactly why I was there. “Mozzarella?” she said. “It’s $6.”

The mozzarella is wonderfully firm and also creamy, slightly salty from brining. However, I have a good Italian market near my house that makes fresh mozzarella, and Tedone’s cheese was on par with that. There’s just something special about getting it fresh from an old Italian woman.

What did I make with the mozzarella? That’s another post…

Tedone Latticini — 597 Metropolitan Ave, Brooklyn

8 thoughts on “Fresh Mozzarella at Tedone Latticini

  1. My husband went to High School in Brooklyn with Lou Tedone (now living in California.) The Tedone family had an Italian store in Brooklyn (and I was told they made fresh mozzarella). Is the woman in this article related to Lou Tedone formerly from Brooklyn.

    Thanks

    Like

    1. @Claire Paola — I don’t know for sure, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they are related. If you lived here in NYC you should stop by and ask Georgiana, she’s there every day.

      Like

  2. The little shops and cheese factories are the ones that take the time and effort to produce great products like this Italian woman does! Mozzarella, in my opinion, can only be eaten fresh and is a great appetizer that looks wonderful, tastes wonderful, and will be sure to please your guests. Mozzarella can be served cut up with tomatoes, fresh basil, and olive oil on a platter, or simply on its own. You can also make salads and pair the mozzarella with fruit such as pears or apricots. This is by far one of my favorite summer snacks!

    Like

  3. Claire, yes, Georgianna is Lou Tedone’s (my father) first cousin. My dad, a retired pediatrician, (he’s 86 tomorrow) still makes mozzarella daily for my sister’s store in Shell Beach, California – sometimes two or three times a day! It’s called DePalo and Sons, after my mother’s family store, also in Brooklyn.

    Like

  4. Bob–Our name is rather uncommon in the US, and reading about others who share it with me piques my curiosity. My grandparents, Mauro and Maria Tedone, lived in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn for many years. I’d be curious to know if you’re aware of any relation.

    Like

  5. The world keeps getting smaller. My grandmother was Grace Fiore and founder of the Lebanon Cheese Company, where we were taught to make fresh mozzarella. Ask Lou how the relation works, but I believe my dad and yours were second cousins. What makes this more interesting is my son is on his way to Cal Poly.

    Like

  6. Mike,Please,I hope that both you and your son contact me here in SLO.I am listed in the phone book and live close to Cal Poly.You are closely related to my wife Grace,formerly a De Palo. Her mother was a Fiore. I am familiar with your family and their operation in Lebanon.I know my dad boughy mozzie curd from your family.I think they called their operation, Aiello???

    Like

Leave a Reply

