The Aerogarden Chronicles, Vol. 4

According to the instructions, you need to raise the lamp of the Aerogarden when the plants get within an inch of the bulbs. This led me to one of my typical crisis moments: only the chives were that close to the lamp; did I have to wait until more herbs were that tall? Would the chives burn up if I waited? Would the other plants wither and die if I moved the lamp too soon? I decided to go for it.

To raise the lamp, you need to unplug the Aerogarden. Then you remove the bowl from the base of the contraption and set it aside. Finally you raise the lamp, one notch at a time. Put the bowl back and plug it back in and you’re done. Of course this led me to wonder if the lamp cycle would be disturbed by unplugging it, but that’s because I’m crazy.

As you can see, some of the herbs are really starting to flourish. The chives are climbing like mad, the Italian basil is really expanding, and the parsley and thyme are finally starting to resembling parsley and thyme.

This is the end of the third full week of Aerogardening. You can supposedly begin “harvesting” after three weeks, but I think I’m going to give it a little bit longer. I’m actually going to be out of town for most of this week, so I’m leaving the Aerogarden in the capable(?) hands of my roommate…

2 thoughts on “The Aerogarden Chronicles, Vol. 4

    1. @DanaMc: i’ll keep posting; as of yet i haven’t actually tasted the herbs, but they smell right. supposedly you can continue to harvest them for 3-4 months, so we’ll see how it goes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

