Sandwich #41 at Brooklyn Bread

I’ve been craving sandwiches for lunch lately, and I can only eat so many bahn mi and broccoli rabe sandwiches. I started looking a little farther away for more sandwiches, and I decided to give them a shot. I had gotten a muffin there a few weeks before which was dry and gummy, but I had noticed a large sandwich menu.

I settled on sandwich number 41: fried eggplant, mozzarella, roasted peppers, arugula, and something called lite [sic] tomato sauce. I was instructed to wait at a table while they made the sandwich, and after only a few short minutes in the warm sun my sandwich arrived.

As you can see, it’s a huge sandwich, though at $8 it should be. It was very good, particularly the fresh arugula which lent a nice, fresh peppery bite to the sandwich. I should point out, that this is one sandwich, even though it kind of looks like two in the photo. This is because it was served with the halves facing opposite directions.

Before I left I asked for a chocolate chip cookie, and they gave me one fresh out of the oven. It tasted like maybe they use almond extract in the batter, which was a nice touch.

So where should I go next for a sandwich? I don’t mean a bagel, or a falafel, but a real sandwich. Seventh Ave would be preferable, between say 12th St. and Flatbush. 5th or 6th Ave would be okay also, but closer to 6th St. Any suggestions?

Brooklyn Bread – 382 5th Ave.

One thought on “Sandwich #41 at Brooklyn Bread

Leave a Reply

