Passover Cooking: Frittata en Insalata

Note: Last year I wrote a detailed post about how I cook Kosher for Passover, or K for P as I call it. Click here if you care about such things.

I was inspired to make this dish by an old episode of “Molto Mario” that I haven’t seen in at least five years. It always stuck with me though, because it’s a little weird and yet looked awfully good. And anyway, combining a frittata with a salad isn’t so strange in itself, it’s just the specific way it’s done here that may seem a little odd.

This is so simple to make that it doesn’t even really bear telling you about it (though I will tell you about it). First I made the omelet (I’d use two eggs per person) with lots of fresh herbs — parsley, mint, chives — and some scallion greens. You should really pack the herbs in, so much so that when you mix with the eggs you might at first think you used to many herbs. I cooked it in a little olive oil and butter until it was lightly browned on both sides (I perfected my omelet technique during Passover last year). Then I slid the frittata out of the pan and let it cool on a board before cutting it into strips.

Then I turned to the salad portion of the meal. I made my own vinaigrette, but you can use store-bought if you’re lazy (though K for P salad dressing is usually disgusting, so I’d recommend making your own). I combined red wine vinegar, the juice of a lemon, some sea salt, black pepper, and a finly minced shallot in a cup, then drizzled in olive oil while I mixed it up. That’s it, that’s the whole dressing.

For the salad itself I used a mix of some spring greens from various Farmer’s Markets: dandelion greens, red mustard leaves, pea shoots, and sunflower shoots. I also threw in some of the herbs from the omelet, as well as the white parts of the scallions. I washed and thoroughly dried all of the greens, then put them in a large bowl. I added half of the dressing, tossed it, then the strips of frittata, then tossed, the some more dressing. I did a final salt & pepper seasoning, and that was it. It’s light and refreshing while still being filling. Quick and easy Passover cooking at its finest.

One thought on “Passover Cooking: Frittata en Insalata

Leave a Reply

