Passover Cooking: Carrot “Noodles” with Enoki Mushrooms and Baby Chard

Note: Last year I wrote a detailed post about how I cook Kosher for Passover, or K for P as I call it. Click here if you care about such things.

Especially keen readers of this blog may remember that last year my friends Jeff & Eva gave me a gift certificate to Sur La Table. One of the things I splurged on while using the gift card was a spiral slicer. And yet I haven’t used it since then, which is something I suspected would happen at the time I purchased it but had hoped to avoid. Fast forward to Passover. One of the things I miss most during Passover is pasta — yeah, there’s K for P pasta, but anyone who has eaten it must admit that it’s pretty awful. So I pulled the spiral slicer down off of the top shelf (literally) and decided to make noodles from carrots.

The slicer came with three interchangeable blades of various widths; I used the thinnest blade for this application. Once I finally figured out the proper technique for using it, it was easy and fun. Behold, noodled carrots:

I had originally thought that I would have to blanche the “noodles” in some salted water, but since they were so thin I decided that I didn’t need to. I sauteed some thinly sliced onions in olive oil, and when they started to soften I seasoned them with salt and pepper. Then I moved them to the sides of the pan, added a little more olive oil, then added the carrot noodles. I seasoned them, let them cook for a moment, and then moved them to the sides of the pan. I repeated this process next with enoki mushrooms, and then with some tiny baby chard. Once everything was in the pan, I mixed it together, then added the juice of two lemons. I cooked it all together for a few minutes, check for seasoning, and then added some more olive oil and some parmesan cheese.

To make it extra fancy I garnished with some carrot ribbons (apply vegetable peeler to raw carrot), some chives, and a lot more parmesan cheese.

4 thoughts on “Passover Cooking: Carrot “Noodles” with Enoki Mushrooms and Baby Chard

  1. I have one of those spiral slicers and just love it. I make my noodles with zucchini. I sprinkle a very little salt on the “noodles” and put them on a towel to drain any excess water while I make a raw marinara sauce.

    Since I am trying to eat more “raw” stuff, I just warm it a little, but don’t cook it, as cooking the zucchini noodles would cause them to become very mushy. Warming is adequate. By the time the marinara sauce is ready, the noodles have drained and they have become a lot like “al dente” spaghetti. yum

    I also take peeled zucchini and with a vegetable peeler, slice lengthwise strips from the fleshy part to make something like fettuccine noodles. A wonderful Parve “Alfredo” sauce is made in the blender with macadamia/pine nuts, salt and pepper, garlic, herbs, lemon juice and water.

    Like

Leave a Reply

