Passover Cooking: Pomegranate Glazed Bananas with Sour Cream

Note: Last year I wrote a detailed post about how I cook Kosher for Passover, or K for P as I call it. Click here if you care about such things.

Bananas in sour cream was a Passover breakfast staple for me growing up. There’s something intriguing about the sweet banana with the creamy… um, sour-ness of the sour cream. I was trying to think of a way to make it a little more upscale, and originally I was just going to caramelize the bananas in sugar. Then I remembered the free bottles of POM Wonderful pomegranate juice I had recently received (I’ll be blogging about that soon) and I knew I had to use the juice with the bananas.

It’s a simple thing to do. In a sauce pan heat some sugar over medium heat. As soon as it starts to melt add some pomegranate juice and stir it so the sugar dissolves. As it begins to bubble add a little honey and then a little butter. When it turns into a syrup add the bananas, quartered.

Let them cook for a few minutes to soften, and then carefully flip them over so the other side gets cooked. I had planned to make a fancy quenelle of the sour cream but it was way too wet to do it (maybe I could have drained it for a bit to get it firmer), so I just plopped it into the middle of the plate. I arranged the bananas around the sour cream, then turned the heat up on the remaining liquid in the pan. I added a bit more pomegranate juice and let it reduce again, then poured this mixture over the bananas.

The result? The pomegranate juice reduces beautifully, and gives a deep rich flavor to the bananas (and I’m not just saying that because it was free). It matched so well with the sour cream that when I finished the bananas, I poured the leftover syrup into the container with the leftover sour cream and ate it like yogurt. Yes, I’m a pig, but it was insanely delicious.

Leave a Reply

