Dim Sum From Street Cart

InnardsLotus Wrapped Rice
If I wasn’t THAT lazy to get off the F train on East Broadway then back onto the F train to go to work, I would totally get breakfast from this food street cart lady. Chinese street food vendors are pretty much everywhere, mostly right by subway entrances/exits. When I used to live on the Q line I would get out of the Canal stop to go to my to-go Chinese food street cart. My usual items were chicken congee with peanuts and rice rolls with fish balls. I love that combo. Definitely more healthy than a sausage, egg and cheese on a roll. But I had a problem and that were the peanuts in the congee. I’m not a big fan of peanuts (I do love peanut butter and peanut sauce) and most of the pieces of chicken in the congee were actually peanuts. Now that I’m in a different part of Brooklyn and the F train (I hate the F trains) is the closes train, I get off at E.Broadway to go to Chinatown. One morning I went to Chinatown to get some buns for breakfast. When I walked out of the bakery I noticed a street cart vendor across the street. I walked over and took a quick peak of the menu. Instead of chicken and peanuts congee she served pork with preserved egg congee. Now I’m not a lover of preserved eggs either but they don’t really have a taste to them. So…I’ve been going to this street cart since last November and everytime I would get congee and rice rolls with fish balls. Then last week, after a long hiatus for me, I went back to her and was prepared to get the same thing UNTIL I saw something different on the menu. First off, the menu was no longer hand-written but typed out. Second, she had lotus sticky rice!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOO. They’re basically sticky rice stuffed with chicken and mushroom wrapped in lotus leaves, mainly served in dim sum. I split it down the middle to see the fillings. It was kind of lacking in stuffing but it was still good and I most definitely welcome this new addition to the cart. Now if only she start selling ha gow and sui mai.

Rugters and E. Broadway

4 thoughts on “Dim Sum From Street Cart

  1. That does look pretty tasty. I used to be an Sausage, Egg and Cheese girl for breakfast… that all stopped when I didn’t fit into my jeans anymore… Life with a slow metabolism is no fun at all!

    Like

  2. Since you get off the E.Broadway train station, there’s a stall that sells freshly made rice roll and you can choose the filling of your choice. That hole in the wall shop always sells steamed buns and the likes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

