Haggis Haggis Haggis

Haggis Haggis Haggis
I ALSO got haggis from our friend. Instead of veggie haggis they got me the real thing. The Real Thing! I have only seen it on tv, on the Travel Channel. Somehow I got the idea that I would totally love it. I’m cool with blood sausages so why not haggis? Oh was I wrong. I guess I don’t really know what haggis is. Apparently it’s not grind up beef parts but grind up lamb parts. I like lamb when it doesn’t really taste like lamb. Also by the time I got around to eating the haggis it was already a week old from it’s used by date. Oh well.
I just want to apologize for combining haggis with an English style breakfast. Sorry…heehee but I REALLY wanted baked beans. Oh and sorry for the English muffins. This meal took a long ass time to make. I started off by boiling the potatoes then when it was done I threw them onto a pan and started sauteing them. Also fun to note that I added Irish butter with the olive oil in the pan. When the potatoes started to brown I added mushroom that I had cooked earlier while the potatoes were boiling. Added salt and pepper and a generous sprinkle of Herbes de Provence. When that was done I started on cooking my chicken sausages and frying up 2 over easy eggs. Then I heated up another pan. I cut opened the haggis and roughly cut it into small cubes and threw them into the new pan. When the haggies was almost done browning I added 3 tomatoes that were cut into halves. Then opened the can of baked beans and just heated it up in a small pot. *Phew….and then it all came together onto 1 plate.
I took a giant bite of the haggis. I really wanted to like it but I was only able to eat another bite. It took me a while to realize why I didn’t like the taste of haggis. Like I said before I didn’t know it was made from sheep parts and I can’t really stand the strong smell/taste of lamb and haggis is a giant round thing of sheep bits. Oh well, but the baked beans, fried egg, potatoes and mushroom, chicken apple sausage, tomato, and English muffin were awesome.

One thought on “Haggis Haggis Haggis

Leave a Reply

