Apple Pie, Candied Yams And Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Thanksgiving dinner
Oh Thanksgiving oh Thanksgiving. Why did you have to be over so soon. For the past 2-3 years I have spent my Thanksgiving vacation down in Virginia at my friend’s parent’s place. It felt like an actual vacation. But this year I stayed in NYC and went to a little Thanksgiving dinner my 2 friends were having. It was fun and all but it went by too quickly. Another thing I did different this year was that I made something for Thanksgiving dinner. Since I wasn’t at my friend’s parent’s place I emailed his mom to get her recipes for the apple pie and candied yams. To bring a little bit of what I was missing about Thanksgiving to this dinner.

Bacon! I had 6 strips of applewood smoked bacon in the fridge. I wanted to make something with the bacon. So I googled “bacon cookies” and found this recipe for “Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies” from Joy the Baker. Awesome! And the recipe is just sooooooo simple. The only hard part was shaping the dough into balls. I sure WOWed my friends when I brought them over.
Peanut butter bacon cookie
My first apple pie and first candied yams came out pretty darn good! Everything was so easy to make but I over estimated the amount of apples I needed. I bought 10 apples while I only needed 4 or 5. So now I have sliced up apples coated in cinnamon, sugar and corn starch ready to go if I want to make another pie. I wanted to spice up the pie a little so I googled what sort of spice/herb goes well with apples. Sage! I couldn’t really find a recipe for this so I came up with this on my own. Sage whipped cream. I wasn’t too sure when I served it but everyone said it was really good. Later my friend used it in his coffee. You can find the recipe here.
Apple pieFinished apple pie
Candied yam
So Thanksgiving dinner, there were 9 people and I don’t think we made a dent in the food. There was….a giant turkey, regular stuffing, veggie stuffing, green bean casserole, mac n’cheese, gravy, mash potatoes, broccoli, candied yam, biscuits, cranberry sauce, cranberry relish, salad, bacon wrapped water chestnuts, peanut butter bacon cookies, pumpkin whoopie pies from One Girl Cookies ( in case I got lazy to cook anything), a regular pumpkin pie, a pumpkin siffon pie, apple pie and loads of alcohol.

Leave a Reply

