Braised Lamb Shanks

5 giant lamb shanks
Every time I go home, LA, I usually make a meal for the family. Sometimes I incorporate what I have learn about cooking and most of the time tried to out-do the last time. Well this most recent meal I went with lamb shanks and decided to braise them. Braising is great because you can leave it sitting on the stove for hours and the end results, hopefully, will yield a great hearty dish. This time I also decided to NOT use any recipes but just in case I did look at a few for guides. Especially how long I was suppose to cook collard greens. I had no idea it takes that long. Also I wanted to make grits to go with the heartiness of lamb shanks. I never made grits before but it looked simple enough. 4 cups of liquid to 1 cup of grits, okay.

The couple of times that I made lamb shanks I always ended up buying tiny shanks. Where were all the big pieces that I see at restaurants? Anyways, lucky for me my local grocery store had those caveman sized shanks! I bought 5.

Here’s what I did that night.


– I braised the lamb shanks for 2 hours with turnips, carrots, garlic, onion, thyme, rosemary, water and a whole bottle of red wine.
– Boiled the collard greens in water and lemon for 30mins then simply sauteed with garlic.
– Roasted brussels sprouts with garlic and herbs.
– Grits with parmesan cheese and pan fried corn.
– Butternut squash and carrot soup.
Cooking collard greensBrussels sprouts and collard greens
I made few mistakes that night. I roasted the brussels sprouts a bit too long. For some reason I only added a cup of water and a cup of milk for 1 cup of grits. It was still a bit grainy when I served it because there weren’t much liquid to properly cook it. The butternut squash and carrot soup was sour because I thought it would be a GREAT idea to not waste the lemon water that I cooked the collard greens in and so I pour the whole pot of sour water into the soup. Whoops.
Braised lamb shank and grits
I also f’ed up the lamb. While it was tender, it was kind of bland and oily. Why? How come everytime I try to braise something the sauce comes out thin and oily? Hm….I don’t know. BUT the leftover chunks of lamb were great the next day when I pan fried it, heehee.

One thought on “Braised Lamb Shanks

Leave a Reply

