Big Apple BBQ NY

MORE BBQ
I guess by now everyone has blogged and tweeted about what happened this weekend. It suuurree was an epic weekend. There were Bonnaroo, World Cup and the Big Apple BBQ Block Party all going on at the same time. Too bad there weren’t any giant screens at Madison Square Park showing the World Cup like they do for the US Opens. Anyways back to BBQ, sadly this year there was no Salt Lick. Apparently there was an injury and they couldn’t make it. Usually my friends and I would line up at 10:45am for Salt Lick’s brisket but thanks to the World Cup some of my friends decided to catch the USA vs England game and some of my friends were out of town. This year even though Salt Lick couldn’t make it there were few new editions to the BBQ line up.


Moonlite Bar-B-Q Inn from Owensboro, KY
Moonlite Bar-B-Q Inn
BBQ mutton! Instead of doing beef or pork Moonlite decided to do mutton or lamb. It was sad because they rarely had a line, I think people were scared of the word “mutton” or maybe people just decided to go to the ones they’re familiar with. But the bbq mutton was DAMN DAMN good, a bit salty but DAMN good. If you like lamb

Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q from Decatur, AL
Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q
I’m not a big fan of pork shoulder just because I find them a bit dry. Hey thats what the bbq sauce is for right? Big Bob Gibson does it right great flavors and the cole slaw was awesome!

The Pit from Raleigh, NC
The Pit
I’m not sure if I actually had bbq from the man, Ed Mitchell, before because I usually go with a group of friends. We would split up and bring trays of bbq back so I had no idea where the bbq came from. But this weekend I finally found myself in line for Ed Mitchell’s whole hog. The meat may look a bit underwhelming but it was FULL OF FLAVORS and juicy. I wanted seconds or a whole tray to take home.
The Pit

Stubb’s BBQ from Austin, TX
Stubb's
Stubb’s from Austin was there to sell their bbq sauce and they were giving out free food, WIN! The bbq sauce tasted pretty good and the chopped brisket was tasty.

Snaps from the Big Apple BBQ NY
Checkered Pig
Pappy's SmokehouseThe Pit
Martin's Bar-B-Que JointMartin's Bar-B-Que Joint
The Pit
Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
Moonlite Bar-B-Q Inn
Big Apple BBQ
Moonlite Bar-B-Q Inn
Checkered PigBig Apple BBQ
Checkered PigCheckered Pig
Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q

Big Apple BBQ is on Twitter

One thought on “Big Apple BBQ NY

Leave a Reply

