Food Truck Drive-In

New York Food Film Fest Food Truck Drive-in
This past weekend was the 4th annual New York Food Film Festival. Basically they show food related films and people come and watch and eat. There were about half a dozen different events throughout the city but I only went to the food truck drive-in on Saturday. In the end this event was a bit disappointing. Hopefully they’re fix it somehow for next year. One of the few problems the event had was that it never got crowded which was good for me because I hate crowds but that left a lot of the food vendors standing around waiting for customers to come. Few of the vendors even packed up and left early. It was a free event but they capped the number of tickets to 3000. Later the event even tweeted that they were opening it up to the public. Also the event was a bit tooooooo long, noon to 10pm.

Though few of the vendors, the Cooking Channel gave free popsicles from People’s Pops, The Krave Truck and Wafels & Dinges, had a constant stream of customers. I definitely was guilty of being in those lines. Sooorrrrryyyyyy but The Krave Truck is like the closest we have to the Kogi Truck and they’re from New Jersey. Also who doesn’t want free popsicles?


The first thing I ate were 2 kravers (picture above), as The Krave truck called it. 2 small sandwichces with 2 choices of meat with cheese, kim chi, on a toasted brioche bun. Sadly they didn’t serve the kravers with toasted brioche bun but regular slider buns. Also I ordered a one with pork and one with short rib but instead got one with pork and one with chicken. Just by looking at the 2 kravers they do look delicious and after eating both they were delicious but the chopped kim chi was way too mild. There wasn’t even a slight kick to them. Boo

Next up I got a free rhubarb and jasmine popsicle from People’s Pops from The Cooking Channel truck. I never had People’s Pop before because I didn’t really want to pay $3.50 for a popsicle but it was FREE at the drive-in. I love jasmine tea so this popsicle was deeeelicious.
New York Food Film Fest Food Truck Drive-in

After walking around and snapping photos of the event I got myself a grilled cheese sandwich (All Day Breakfast sandwich) from The Milk Truck. I got the ……. and it was good! Crunchy bread with cheese and an egg, whats not to love?
New York Food Film Fest Food Truck Drive-in

The last thing that I ate at the event was a Belgian wafel from Wafels & Dinges with nutella and bananas. I still remember the first time I had a wafel from here. A cold winter night and a freshly made warm wafel, ahhhhh. I still wish they make fresh wafels at the truck but oh well, they do great stuff.
New York Food Film Fest Food Truck Drive-in

Here are some more photos from that day.
http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649

Leave a Reply

