Banana Cocoa Puree Ice Cream And Fried Chicken

The Redhead
Continuing my story about taking my friend, Virginia, to eat in NYC. I REALLY wanted her to try Big Gay Ice Cream truck but the first night we hung out, we got to Union Square after 8pm. By then the truck was already gone. The next day I decided that we should get ice cream first THEN dinner. Smart move I know. Also the night before I had received a tweet from the ice cream man himself that there will be banana cocoa puree as a topping, one of my favorite topping. He rarely has this. Few weeks earlier he had told me that he’s actually not a big fan of bananas. Why?! Bananas are great!


Banana CocoaSalty Pimp
Met up with Virginia around 6:30pm at the truck. Boo sadly Doug wasn’t in the truck, he was off at Trader Joe’s stocking on supplies. Oh well. I recommended Virginia to get the Salty Pimp while I got the banana cocoa. I was offered that I had a choice between vanilla, chocolate or both! I went with both. I quickly devoured mine which was served in a plastic cup. Hmmm chocolaty and banana-y. Doug! Have more banana toppings please? My friend was in love with her Salty Pimp though she found it to be a bit too much ice cream. Is that even possible? So I had to help her.

After our desserts we walked over to The Redhead. I keep hearing good things about this place and what better time to go try it. I thought it was closer to Union Square but it wasn’t. I was pretty sweatin by the time we got there. Oh and the entrance didn’t really look like an entrance but more like a side door. It was pretty crowded when we walked in but lucky for us there was 1 table left for 2. The whole place was small and narrow which made the all the tables quite close to each other. We sat between a table of 2 and a table of 4 and felt like we sat down at a communal table.

The Redhead
I was ready to eat and here’s what we ordered.

Anson Mills Antebellum Grits
Anson Mills Antebellum Grits
I love grits and tend to order them whenever I see it on the menu. Sadly to say but this was sort of bland. My all time favorite grits is still from Dirt Candy.

Broccoli, Cheddar & Crispy Shallots
Broccoli, Cheddar & Crispy Shallots
BOOM! This was super awesome! I was in my broccoli craving phase and this really frakkin hit the spot. It was delicious and cheesy and the extra crunch from the shallots. Perfect! I would eat this as an entree maaayybe plus a side of rice!

Buttermilk Fried Chicken cornbread, spinach & strawberry, almonds
Buttermilk Fried Chicken  cornbread, spinach & strawberry, almonds
I came here specifically for this. Yes fried chicken. I have a list of fried chicken places to try. This was pretty good. The batter was light and the chicken wasn’t greasy at all but it didn’t really do anything for me. I think I’m still in love with Pies ‘N’ Thighs. Though it was freshing to get strawberries in my salad. The table next to us all got 4 plates of fried chicken. Wow.

Flatbread wild mushrooms, mascarpone

Flatbread wild mushrooms, mascarpone
This looked delicious but sadly it was waaaaaaay too salty. WTH?

The Redhead 349 E. 13th Street NYC
Big Gay Ice Cream truck on Twitter

2 thoughts on “Banana Cocoa Puree Ice Cream And Fried Chicken

  1. I MUSt have a banana everyday. But I could understand it’s a personal taste. It’s all about the texture really. Sorry to hear about the pizza issue. I, too, can’t stand oversalted dishes when I eat out (I’m very sodium-sensitive). That’s one reason why I don’t trust restaraunts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

