Farm City Fair

Farm City Fair
After a week of great weather this past Sunday was sort of a reminder that “oh hey Autumn is on its way.” It was chilly and gloomy, a hoody sort of day. I woke up and my plan for the morning was to do laundry. As I was lugging my 3 weeks worth of dirty clothes I heard what sounded like a live band playing on Bergen Street. Of course I was curious so after I put the laundry into the machine I walked over to Bergen to check out what was up. To my surprised it was a food event. The 1 block of Bergen was blocked off for food, farm and information vendors. I had read about some kind of event going on this weekend at the Invisible Dog gallery but didn’t know it was this grand! It was the Farm City Fair.


Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair
What’s Farm City Fair? According to their website….”Farm City is an educational and research project launched by Derek Denckla — TheGreenest.Net blogger – exploring new visions for urban agriculture that embrace any means of intervention necessary to promote a sustainable food system through farming, architecture, arts, design, discourse, education, cuisine, film and performance.” Sounds awesome right?

During the day I kept going back and forth from my apartment to the laundromat to the fair. And each time I walked away with a little snack. Wylie Dufresne of wd~50, SCRATCHbread, Chef Sean Rembold of Marlow & Sons, Farmacy, Ted & Honey, Egg and many other vendors were there to offer people some of the tastiest and freshest food.

Farmacy
Their grape soda was excellent.
Farm City Fair

Marlow & Sons
Chef Sean Rembold offered deep fried corn.
Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair

SCRATCHbread
I’ve been meaning to go to the Brooklyn Flea on Saturday to grab some bread but well I kind of lazy to go all the way to Fort Greene BUT yes I finally got a chance to try the bread and talked a little with Matthew Tilden. If you’re not familiar with SCRATCHbread go check out Liza de Guia’s video about the bread and the man behind the bread.
Farm City Fair

The toast with homemade aioli, hot and sweet peppers and speck was excellent and so was the slice of sourdough served in a paper cup with cheese and pepper.
Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair

Ted and Honey
I didn’t try it but they had tomato sandwich.
Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair

wd~50
Ooohhhhhhh a celebrity chef! Wylie Dufresne was on the scene handing out free poached eggs in a tomato broth (I think) with shredded carrots. It was light and delicious.
Farm City Fair
Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair

Northern Rye
Farm City Fair
Farm City FairFarm City Fair

5 thoughts on “Farm City Fair

  1. Oh Cool! I was there too! So cool to see Wylie Dufresne there! His poached egg sample was amazing (according to my friend). I bought the vegan sweet potato rye tart.

    Like

  2. Lol. I went noonish. How about you?
    Wylie D. Was giving out the recipe as well. I think that was a tomatillo sauce…

    The rye was…healthy tasting, hehe. A little dry (as expected), but the sweet potato had a hint of cinnamon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

