Breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien

I found myself on the Upper East Side recently, and I was wandering down Lexington Avenue. I worked on Lexington for a long time, and I never really found a place where I loved to eat. I was there too early for lunch, so I was on the lookout for a place to eat breakfast. I came across Le Pain Quotidien, an upscale bakery-restaurant chain, and decided to give it a try. I went for one of the specials, an artichoke and sun-dried tomato frittata, served with a salad and some bread ($9.99). The frittata came out really fast, leading me to believe that they have a ton of them pre-made and they just serve them up as they are ordered. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, and it’s probably par for the course when it comes to egg dishes, but I was hyper aware of it. The frittata was good, but the disparate ingredients didn’t really seem to meld. There were big chunks of artichoke, which is a definite plus for me, but the whole affair was kind of bland. The two types of bread were both delicious and crusty; so good that I considered buying a couple of loaves from the shop at the front.

Le Pain Quotidien — 1309 Lexington Avenue

Leave a Reply

