Spicy Tuna Sandwich

Sunrise Mart
Japanese markets are wonderful. Even if you aren’t buying anything it’s just nice to roam around and look at all the cool Japanese things. Most recently I was at the Sunrise Mart in Soho getting lunch with Phae. Just like the Sunrise Mart in the East Village they have boxed lunches and rice balls but unlike the Sunrise Mart in the East Village they DO have a larger space. A larger space to include a kitchen. A week before that I was there and saw these delicious golden thick cut fries and I knew if I go there for lunch next time I will eat them.


There were so many things I wanted to eat. Udon, curry, burger oh my! Fried chicken lunch box, yes! Oyakodon, heck yeah! What I got eventually was a box with 3 sandwiches all cut into halves served over a bed of mixed greens and 3 pieces of chicken karaage. You must be thinking “hot damn Donny why the hell did you get plain ole sandwiches when there were so many other deliciousness?” 2 words: spicy tuna. Oh heck yes. Spicy tuna sandwich. Ok so inside the box were an egg salad sandwich, tuna salad sandwich and spicy tuna sandwich. SPICY TUNA SANDWICH!
Sunrise Mart
If you love spicy tuna handrolls but always hope to JUST eat the spicy tuna part well then this is the sandwich for you. Nothing but 2 slices of bread and loads and loads of spicy tuna. I had no idea how the 3 pieces of fried chicken fit in but I ate it anyways.

The fries were good. I actually prefer thick cut over regular fries or shoestrings. At the cash register the lady gave me a choice of what mayo I wanted. I forgot the 1st one but I got the wasabi mayo. The fries were nice and crunchy on the outside and soft in the inside. How fries should be!
Sunrise MartSunrise Mart
In the end, I couldn’t finish my lunch. It was waaay to much food for lil ole me. The total was just under $10. So I say that’s a pretty damn good deal.

– Sunrise Mark 494 Broome St, NYC

3 thoughts on “Spicy Tuna Sandwich

Leave a Reply

