Cauliflower & Apple Bread Pudding

So I’ve had this recipe for a cauliflower bread pudding kicking around for a while, but when it came to me actually making one I didn’t even glance at the recipe. Here’s what I did:

I blanched cauliflower florets in salted boiling water. I also turned my oven up to 450 degrees. Meanwhile I built the base of the dish in my cast iron pan. I started with equal parts olive oil and flour, cooking them like a roux, until it started to turn brown. Then I seasoned with salt and pepper, then added a few cups of milk. When this started to simmer I added handfuls of grated parmesan cheese. While this was cooking, I peeled and chopped an apple into pieces about a half-inch around. I also cut my day-old bread into large chunks. When the cheese sauce started to simmer I dumped in the cauliflower and the apple, and stirred them around. Then I added the bread chunks, sprinkled with more grated cheese, and popped the whole thing into the oven. About 40 minutes later it was done. The result was wonderful; salty but slightly sweet, cheesy, crusty on top, creamy and rich underneath. The apples cook through but don’t fall apart, and lend their sweetness to the whole dish.

Leave a Reply

