Passover Cooking: Mushroom “Scallops” with Sweet Potatoes

Note: A few years ago I wrote a detailed post about how I cook Kosher for Passover, or K for P as I call it. Click here if you care about such things.

I’ve been having a love affair with king oyster mushrooms lately. Here I sliced them into rounds and sauteed them in butter until brown on one side, seasoned them with salt and pepper, and then flipped them over to brown on the other side. Then I squeezed lemon juice into the pan and covered it so they steamed a bit.

Meanwhile I peeled and cut sweet potatoes into chunks, then boiled them, drained them, mashed them, and added butter, salt & pepper. I set the mushroom “scallops” onto a bed of sorrel, a lemon-flavored leafy green I picked up at the Greenmarket, and served the mashed sweet potatoes on the side. Everything on the plate complemented everything else; this was a really great meal.

Leave a Reply

