New Amsterdam Market Revisited

On my first visit to the New Amsterdam Market, back in May, I have to admit I was a little disappointed. There were lots of artisan food vendors, but for whatever reason I just wasn’t feeling the vibe. This past Sunday I got up early and decided to pay a return visit to the market, and I’m glad I did. I had a tone of food, most of it very good, and ended up having a really good time.

I started my day off with a free scoop of decadently rich Brooklyn Blackout ice cream courtesy of our friends at Steve’s Ice Cream, then went in search of something more substantial. I settled on the Morris Grilled Cheese stand, where I got this incredible ricotta sandwich. Yes, they were selling more traditional grilled cheeses, but I was intrigued by the description of this one and it did not disappoint. The grilled bread is topped with fresh ricotta and then a salad of cucumbers, onions, green beans, and mint. Unlike the other sandwiches they were offering it was not grilled again, so the sandwich was a cold one, perfect for the warm late Spring day. It was as messy and delicious as they promised me it would be.

I also had some excellent fried foods. Brooklyn Brine was selling fried pickles, made with their signature whiskey sour pickles (which I first tasted and loved at during International Pickle Day). Beer battered and deep fried, they were hot nuggets of salty, acidic goodness. Wasan, an upscale Japanese restaurant in the East Village, had a tempura station set up and they were offering to fry up seasonal vegetables. I got a hunk of zucchini, a piece of spring onion, an the best one of all, sugar snap peas. Simply put, this was the best tempura I’ve ever eaten — light and crispy and not at all oily.

There was plenty more, including La Newyorkina’s lime pie paleta and cream soda from P&H, as well as the newly opened neighboring Fulton Street Market. The New Amsterdam Market has definitely won me over.

New Amsterdam Market — South St & Beekman St, Lower Manhattan

One thought on “New Amsterdam Market Revisited

Leave a Reply

