Rockaway Beach

Rockaway Beach

What do you do when you have one weekday off? Laundry? Watch 8hrs of Netflix Instant? Cook? Just be lazy? Actually I did all of that plus a quick trip out to Rockaway Beach. Yep the beach. I’m not a big fan of beaches but do enjoy walking along boardwalks. Another thing I do enjoy is eating along the boardwalk. This summer, I’m sure most of you know this by now, few of our favorite Brooklyn based food people took over the concession stands at the Rockaway Beach boardwalk. Yep that was the only reason why I went to the beach, to eat.


Rippers
Rippers, a marriage of Roberta’s and The Meat Hook, they can do no wrong. Two of my favorite places as one.

RippersRippers
I have seen their Hardbody burger (double patty double cheese) and it’s huge! I knew that I was going to eat more so I decided to just get a plain burger with a fried egg and an order of fries. The burger was great, nice buns and the egg cooked perfectly. I softly pressed the bun down and accidentally broke the yolk (great for dipping the fries in). Though they could’ve given me more lettuce.

Rippers
These were some of the best fries I have ever eaten. Fried perfectly. I mistakenly squirted a whole bunch of hot sauce (thought it was ketchup) onto the fries but it turned out to be a great idea.

Rockaway Taco
After the girl at the Rockaway Taco concession stand on 96th St told me that they don’t serve tacos, she pointed me towards their original shop just a block away. In the over 90degree weather, even just a block seemed so far away. While standing in line at the shop, I felt overly dressed since I was probably the only one there that wasn’t going to swim or chill on the beach. I have heard great things about Rockaway Taco’s fish taco so I ordered one with guac on top.

Even though the tortilla was kind of hard, the taco was pretty tasty. The addition of the guac was great and the fish was nicely fried and flavorful.

I will definitely head back out before the end of the summer and actually eat a Hardbody.

4 thoughts on “Rockaway Beach

  1. My first job was at a concession stand at Rockaway Beach, in the 1960’s. Only we didn’t have things like fish tacos and burgers with eggs! Somethings certainly improve over the years!

    Like

  2. I’ve wanted to go, but so ‘Far’ out (even though I’m from Queens). I love the boardwalk. Actually thinking of going to Coney Island this week for a stroll…

    Like

Leave a Reply

