Piccoli Trattoria In Park Slope

Homemade pappardelle with short rib ragu

When Piccoli opened in Windsor Terrace, I really wanted to go try it. They specialize in risotto and I do love a good plate of tasty risotto. Though, situated next to Bene Pizza, it was only a to-go spot. I still haven’t been to it yet but recently they opened a sit down restaurant in Park Slope. I wasn’t in a hurry to go try it but then a friend wanted to have dinner there so I went.


There quite a number of starters we wanted to try but in the end I won(!) and got a plate of sardines (fresh roasted sardines with cauliflower “agrodolce” &
smoked paprika oil).
Roasted sardines
My friend never had sardines before but I was glad she liked the dish. The sardines were nice and crunchy and went really well with the cauliflower. They were so crunchy that I even ate the tails.

Squid ink risotto
My friend ordered the Risotto Nero (risotto with squid ink, calamari, parsley & white wine). It was my first time having squid ink. It was definitely a plate of good risotto. Al dente, flavorful and there were enough calamari in every bite. Though half way through, my friend couldn’t finish because it was quite heavy. It was just too much risotto on the plate.

I got the homemade pappardelle with honey-braised short rib ragu. The pappardelle were a lot thinner than what I’m used to eating and I was just a bit disappointed because it was so thin. The short rib ragu was delicious, the whole plate was delicious but I wanted more. I guess it was a good thing my friend couldn’t finish her risotto because I did.

I had a good time eating at Piccoli Trattoria, the food was definitely good and solid and the waitstaff was friendly and helpful. It’s a good addition to the neighborhood and I’m sure it’ll do quite well.

Piccoli 157 Prospect Park South West, Windsor Terrace
Piccoli Trattoria 522 6th Ave, Park Slope

Leave a Reply

