Soft Shell Crab With Kale And Spring Garlic

Soft Shell Crab w/ kale and spring garlic

I love soft shell crab and hate regular crab. It takes too much work for that little bit of meat so if I can eat the whole thing, I’m going to like it more. Yes, I’m lazy. It is also the reason why I don’t like eating that shrimp dish where they simply boil the shrimp. And you have to peel the shrimp and dip it in soy sauce. Too much work. Though I love the salt and pepper shrimp. Deep fried goodness that I can just eat it with shell and all.

I’ve been wanting to cook soft shell crab myself but it just never happened until I was inspired by Sarah Simmons of City Grit, when she made THIS.

This dish was quite simple to make. Three main ingredients. Crab, kale and spring garlic. In a pan I sauteed the kale and spring garlic with a dash of red chili flakes (and salt and pepper to taste). While the veggies were cooking, I seasoned some flour, dunked the crab in the beaten egg and drenched it in the flour. In another pan, on high heat, I added oil and a knob of butter. I fried the crab in the oil and butter mixture til golden on both sides. For an extra kick, I sprinkled more red chili flakes onto the dish.

One thought on “Soft Shell Crab With Kale And Spring Garlic

  1. Elaborate more please on this “other pan” filled with “oil” and a “knob” of butter. Thinking a soft shell crab po’boy might be in order after my failed attempt are running this weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

