Quinoa With Mushrooms and Radish Greens

I usually cook rice or pasta, but I have a bunch of quinoa sitting in my pantry so I decided to cook some up the other day. Quinoa is super easy to make and it’s high in protein, making it a good choice for vegetarians like myself. In addition to that, it has the distinction of being one of the “ancient grains” (despite the fact that it isn’t actually a grain, it’s a grass). The simplest way to make quinoa is like rice; in a pot combine water with quinoa in a ratio of just over 2 parts water to 1 part quinoa. I like to add a pinch of salt and a little butter as well. Then cover the pot and cook until the quinoa is done. When the water is boiling remove the cover to let the water evaporate. You may need to add a little extra water to get the quinoa to the desired fluffiness. But you don’t have to stop there.

In a pan saute some chopped mushrooms (I used oyster mushrooms) until golden brown and crispy. I had some beautiful radishes from the Greenmarket, but I like radishes raw, which leaves me with the radish greens. Rinse them very well, they tend to be very sandy, and then chop them coarsely. Add the greens to the pan with the mushrooms, add some salt, and a bit of rice wine vinegar. Cook for a few minutes, until the greens are completely wilted, then add the cooked quinoa and stir to combine. Garnish with some thin slices of raw radish for crunch and coolness. Easy, delicious, and relatively healthy.

Leave a Reply

