Bamboo From Spicy & Tasty

Spicy & Tasty is an excellent name for a restaurant, considering the spiciness and tastiness of the food they serve. Long-time readers will remember that I gave a shout-out to Spicy & Tasty in my favorites of 2012 post, and I made special mention of the “bamboo in hot spicy sauce” as one of the best things I ate all year. I’ve been thinking about it ever since that meal I’ve been hoping for a reason to go back. So after Donny and I ate at Biang! I made sure we stopped by Spicy & Tasty so I could get some bamboo to take home with me. So what’s so good about it?

For about $7 you get a huge portion of the bamboo, cooked but served cold. The bamboo is nothing like the fibrous canned things I had when I was a kid; instead the stalks are thin and tender, with the texture of hearts of palm. They are tossed with a flavorful sesame-chili oil, which nestles into all of the nooks and crannies on the bamboo shoots. It’s a simple dish but I can’t seem to stop eating it when it’s in front of me, or thinking about eating it when it’s not. Spicy & Tasty is definitely worth a trip to Flushing, even if you only order this one dish. Also recommended: cold jelly in spicy sauce, tofu and celery salad, and cucumbers in sesame oil.

Spicy & Tasty — 39-07 Prince St, Flushing

Leave a Reply

