Market Watch: Arugula Flowers

arugula flowers

What a difference a few days makes. Two days ago it was 80 degrees; this morning it was 42 and rainy. The Greenmarket still has a lot of interesting spring produce, though. I’ve seen kale flowers before, but never arugula flowers. I’m a big fan of using different parts of plants than we normally see, so I had to pick some up for myself from Evolutionary Organics. They suggested using them in a salad, though they also mentioned that Franny’s uses them on one of their pizzas. I plan to blanch them quickly in salted water, then toss them with lemon juice and olive oil — that’s one of my benchmarks for when I’m trying a new kind of greens.

Leave a Reply

