Market Watch: Turkish Orange Eggplant

knife cut noodles

I’ve seen all kinds of eggplants. Purple ones can range in color from a pale pastel to a deep dark almost black hue. Green ones and white ones, and ones that are mottled so that they look like painted Easter eggs. I’ve seen eggplants as large as a melon, long skinny ones that look like snakes, and tiny ones no bigger than a tear drop. I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe… But until my visit to the Union Square Greenmarket yesterday, I’d never seen orange eggplant. These are Turkish orange eggplants, and I had to grab a handful of them just for the novelty of it. The sign said they retain their orange color after cooking; I will let you know how they turn out.

More eggplant-related goodness here.

Leave a Reply

