Fried Chicken: Charles’ Country Pan Fried Chicken

Charles' Country Pan Fried Chicken

I LOVE YOU CHARLES! How can you not love Charles’ Country Pan Fried Chicken, a place that churns out great food and great fried chicken? Also for $13, you can do the all-you-eat and stuff yourself silly.

I have read many reviews about this place, some say it’s the best fried chicken while some complain about the actual tininess of the space and the use of heat lamps. All I can tell you is that, both times I went was right when they open on the weekends. I don’t know the quality of the chicken in the afternoon or at night. I can only tell you how the food tasted at 12:30p and it tasted great.

If you have never been to Charles’, you should know that this is not fried to order chicken. It’ll most likely be sitting inside the fried chicken case with heat lamps above it, keeping the pieces of wings, drumsticks, thighs and breast warm. Getting there right when they open is your best bet for getting some fresh hot fried chicken. There’s also the steam table full of mac n’cheese, collard greens, black-eyed peas, rice, okra and one time there was even a whole ham. Yes, if you pay $13 for the buffet, even the ham is all-you-can-eat. The fried chicken, with near perfect crispy non-greasy skin, was great but the both times I had them, I thought it needed just a little bit more salt in the meat. Though I just squirted some hot sauce and everything was just fine. The food on the steam table was pretty standard stuff which you can skip if your main goal is the fried chicken but I can’t say no to all-you-can-eat mac n’cheese!

What I really love about Charles’, besides the all-you-can-eat, is the relaxed atmosphere. I know that isn’t for everybody but I love walking in with couple friends, grab a big plate of fried chicken, stack them up real high, and just sit there for hours eating and eating. No fuss, no one to bother you, no need to deal with attitudes. And the best thing, after eating 9 pieces of fried chicken, I did not feel gross or wanted to die which is pretty important for buffets.

Charles’ Country Pan Fried Chicken 2839 Frederick Douglass Blvd #1, Harlem, New York

See what other fried chickens I have eaten for my fried chicken project.

Leave a Reply

