LA Eats: Guisados

Guisados

Of course a trip back home wouldn’t be complete without eating some tacos. Few people and couple websites pointed me to Guisados. They recently opened one in DTLA and lucky for me, I was there to check out the Big Gay Ice Cream LA shop.

I guess I should’ve done my homework before going to Guisados. Apparently, the better deal for first timers is to get the platter. It’s a platter of 6 small tacos which is great to get a feel of the place. Instead, I walked up to the counter and got a steak picado, chicken mole poblano, fish, and chicharron.

Let’s start with the not so great and meh. I did not like the chicharron (pork rinds simmered in chile verde) taco. When you think chicharron, you think crunchy and crispy. The chicharron at Guisados was soft because if I had done my homework again I would’ve known that they basically braise and simmer all their taco fillings. Slippery pork skin is not good eats to me. The pescado (grilled fish) taco was alright. I really think that, when it comes to fish tacos, the fish needs to be fried or else it sort of gets lost.

Oh man, but the steak picado and chicken mole poblano tacos were pretty darn good. Great flavors and texture, could’ve eaten 2 more of those.

The corn tortillas were tasty and thicker than the usual tortillas and I really liked that.

My sister told me that they have beef tendon tacos which I want to try, next time I’m home.

Guisados, locations in DTLA, Boyle Heights, and Echo Park Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

