Army Of Bacon Wrapped Enoki

Bacon wrapped enoki mushroomI know bacon wrapped anything is good but my favorite has to be bacon wrapped enoki mushroom. The first time I had this was at Oh! Taisho in the East Village. The mushroom basically acts as the comfort, the comfort that I’m still eating something “healthy” even though it’s wrapped in bacon.
So when I was having my apartment warming party it was an obvious idea to make these oh so wonderfully delicious evil things. Also it’s relatively cheap and easy to make for a large group of people.

Recipe:
1 pack of bacon
2 packs of enoki mushroom
Toothpicks

Marinade:
Soy sauce
Pepsi or coke

Mix soy sauce and soda together. I didn’t measure the amount but I think I did 1 to 1. Of course if you want the marinade to be sweeter, add more soda. I wrapped the bacon the night before so all I did was pop these little delights into the oven. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut each strip of bacon in half and also cut the enoki mushroom in half or else they would be too long. Then grab a bunch of enoki, here the amount of enoki mushroom per strip of bacon is all up to you, place them at the beginning of the bacon (the end closest to you) and roll. Normally you would stick a toothpick (soak the toothpick in water so they don’t burn in the oven) through the bacon but since I made these the night before I waited till the next day right before these went into the oven. Repeat until all of the bacon is used up. With a brush, brush the marinade on each bacon wrap and bake! I don’t remember how long it takes to cook these but you’ll know when the bacon is done.

One thought on “Army Of Bacon Wrapped Enoki

Leave a comment